Aid to Lifel Aid to Life Aid to Life  
   

沟通交流:初生至8个月

有关婴幼儿沟通交流的常见问题

Languages

 

Question

奶嘴对孩子的语言发展是否有不良影响?

孩子要睡时,我发现给她吃奶嘴会让她停止哭闹,可我听说这样会影响孩子以后的语言发展。请问真是这样吗?

Answer 隐藏

皇家言语治疗师学院(RCSLT)声称婴儿学语阶段经常吃奶嘴会对说话产生问题,而且在停用奶嘴后问题仍會持续。奶嘴会防碍婴儿用双唇、舌头、嘴巴及下颚练习发声,因而阻碍了婴儿咿呀学语,而这个阶段对孩子学习说话至关重要。孩子生命中的第一年要吸收语言并学习发声,奶嘴会是语言发展的障碍。


Question

手语有助语言发展吗?

我看到的文章说教孩子手语让他在还不会说话时可以比比划划和你交流。我想在實行前,了解清楚手语是否真有帮助,还是会减缓孩子学说话的意愿。

Answer 隐藏

教婴儿手语的理由是让无法表达的孩子用比划帮助交流。反对这个方法的人认为“比划”会削弱孩子想学说话的动机。孩子与大人之间一对一的交流是任何东西都无法取代的,孩子只有通过听才可以学说话。与孩子生活打交道的成人要非常熟悉了解孩子,可以不依靠手势比划就明白孩子想要说什么。此外,即便跟婴儿使用手语,也必须要边跟他说话边比划。
 

Question

我们应该说哪个语言?

我丈夫说法语,我说英语。我们殷切希望我们的孩子在成长过程中能够流利运用这两种语言,但是我们不知道该怎么做。什么是最佳方法呢?

Answer 隐藏

年幼的孩子可以毫无困难地学习任何他们常常接触到的语言,所以,如果你希望孩子能说双语,保证他从一开始就常常接触法语和英语是关键。理想的状况是父母在跟孩子说话时一定要说自己的母语,而且必须坚持始终。孩子会均衡地吸收两种语言,最终能很效地说这两种语言。孩子对某种语言的能力发展可能会比另一种语言快,他有时可能会拒绝用某种语言交谈,虽然他能听懂。但是,这些都不能动摇你继续用你的母语和他交流的信心,即便他用另一种语言来回答你的问题。终有一天,他会理解你为其双语能力奠定坚实根基的良苦用心。

 
   
  Aid to Life Aid to Life Aid to Life

Aid to Lifel Aid to Life Aid to Life  
   

Communication: Birth to 8 Months

Frequently Asked Questions about Communication in Young Babies

Languages

 

Question

Are Dummies (pacifiers) bad for my child's language development?

When I am trying to get my baby to sleep I find it helpful to put a dummy in her mouth to stop her crying but I hear this may affect her speech later on. Is this true?

Answer Hide

The Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists (RCSLT) says that regular use of dummies during the babbling phase can cause speech problems, which may continue even after the dummy is discarded. Dummies prevent a baby from practicing making sounds with his lips, tongue, mouth, and jaw, thereby inhibiting babbling, one of the most important stages in learning to speak. During the first year of life, when your baby is poised to absorb the language surrounding him and starting to make sounds, a dummy is an obstacle to his language development.


Question

Does sign language aid language development?

I have read that it can be helpful to children if you teach them sign language so that they can communicate with you before they can speak. Before I embark on this I want to find out whether it is really helpful or whether it slows down the child's efforts to speak.

Answer Hide

The rationale for introducing sign language to infants is that teaching a few signs aids communication for the frustrated child who can't yet speak. Those opposed to it say that 'signing' can reduce a child's motivation to learn to speak. Nothing takes the place of one-on-one interaction between the child and the adults in his life and the child will only learn how to speak by hearing words. The adults in a child's life should be familiar enough with the child that they can usually interpret what he is trying to say without resorting to sign language. Furthermore, if baby sign language is used, it must always be accompanied by spoken language.
 

Question

Which language should we speak?

My husband is French and I am English speaking. We would really love for our child to grow up speaking both languages fluently but we are not sure how to ensure that this happens. What is the best approach to take?

Answer Hide

When children are very young they can learn any language they are exposed to with total ease so if you want your child to become bilingual it is very important that you make sure that he is exposed to both French and English from the beginning. The ideal situation is that each parent uses his own mother tongue when speaking to the child and is very consistent about doing so. The child will then absorb both languages equally and eventually will be able to speak both with equal efficiency. It may be that your child develops the capacity to speak one language faster than the other and there may also be times when it seems as if he is refusing to converse in one of the languages even though he seems to understand it. But this should not deter you from continuing to use your mother tongue with your child even though he is replying in the other language. In time he will appreciate the effort you put in to give him a strong foundation in both languages.

 
   
  Aid to Life Aid to Life Aid to Life